Tuesday, 11 September 2012

Weblogic Server

Weblogic Server was formerly called as T3 Server (Three tier server that follows MVC architecture).

                              Figure 1: Weblogic Server (Application/J2EE server) architecture

Components that are involved in understanding weblogic server:
  • Node Manager
  • Weblogic scripting tool
  • Domains
  • Administration Server
  • Managed Servers
  • Deployments
  • Applications
  • Data sources
  • Security realms
  • Configuration files
  • Logs
 The following figure shows how can different machines communicate with each other with the help of node manager controll over the domains.

Figure 2: Components for Weblogic

Once the weblogic server is installed, there are three home directories that gets created.

Middleware Home (MW_HOME)
Java Home  (JAVA_HOME)
Weblogic Home (WL_HOME)

After configuring the weblogic for new domain creation, there is a domain directory that gets created referred in most of the documentations as DOMAIN_DIR (by default located in MW_HOME/user_projects/domains/<domain_name>

The Administration server can be started using the wlst script that connects Admin server to Node manager.

After running the wlst script on your machine:
nmConnect('<weblogic_user_name>','<weblogic_user_password>','<Hostname>','<Node_Manager_Port>','<domain nam>')

Weblogic Username : weblogic (by default and is case sensitive)
Password: welcome1 (by default)
HostName: <Try running "hostname" in the command prompt>
Node Manager port: 5556(By default)
Domain Name: base_domain (By default) <located in MW_HOME/user_projects/domains>

No comments:

Post a Comment